New User Questions to understanding Univention Core Edition

Hello,

I’m hoping I’ve posted this in the correct forum.

I’m very new to univention (just discovered it yesterday). I’m coming from using ClearOS for our Zarafa Mail and Domain Controller. Within our office we also use ownCloud and LDAPs on separate servers (not on ClearOS) and we are looking to install an XMPP server to connect our Zarafa Mail for the chat plugin. We’re a SMB with under 20 employees where 8 employees use the various services I mention above.

I’m very interested in univention but would like to better understand the apps available for univention core edition with regards to the services our small company currently uses.

Question #1:
How can I tell which apps in the Core Edition would require an annual fee or are free.

Question #2:
We use a Wildcard SSL Cert on our ClearOS Server. Would we be able to use our Wildcard Cert for Univention Core Edition?

Question #3:
Would we be able to transfer our Zarafa Mail Server to the Zarafa Univention Core Server?

Question #4:
We were never able to get Openldap using ssl (LDAPs) on ClearOS to work. Does Univention Core Edition have openldap so we can securely connect our services (like xmpp) using the users from UCS using ssl?

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide.

Hey,

Question #1: How can I tell which apps in the Core Edition would require an annual fee or are free.

Univention itself doesn’t require any payments for any of the apps present in the App Center. The vendors behind those apps might, though, that is correct.

You can find the full catalog of available apps online on Univention’s home page. Simply browse and look at the detail pages for those apps of interest to you. Those pages should mention fees if applicable (at least I hope they do).