Help please. LDAP

Hi,

I’m kinda new in LDAP tech in general and I actually work as a trainee. My job is to implement a LDAP server to make things easier for the administrator when a new employee comes. And that’s my problem :

Since 7:30 am, I try to understand HOW can I use UCS as a LDAP server. I don’t care about windows or Mac cause we don’t use/have them. I just wanna add a user and connect with him from any computer in the network at boot time. Is it possible and mostly how ??!! Maybe I’m missing something I don’t know but that kinda piss me off right now. In the documentation it’s all about takeover active directory. We don’t have one, we don’t have openLDAP or else. We chose UCS for that. If it can’t do it, I need to know it now.

Anyway, if it’s possible, could it be possible to have like a basic tutorial to do it. I really wanna use UCS but the documentation is …

Thank’s in advance,

Well it seems that the LDAP server run normally (when i run univention-ldapsearch, it works).

How can I configure my linux client to connect at login session directly to my UCS server to do the authentication ? Wich package do I have to download / configure to do it ? Please help !!

You should start reading the docs at Documentation - UCS 4.1

Well sorry.

I tried to follow this doc yesterday : docs.software-univention.de/domain-4.1.pdf but it didn’t do what I wanted to do … (files missing etc. )

So, now I’m cool and I will present my “problem” :

I want to have UCS as an LDAP server. So basically for now it’s ok. The user/group manager work well. That’s marvelous.
What I want/need to do is :

CASE 1 : When a user start his own computer :
I want to have only the authentication working with UCS (at startup, the user can authenticate by using his login/password)
All his files are still present in his computer and he can work normally by using the kereberos ticket allowing him to have SSO access to the NAS/Cluster on the intranet.