Dumb Question?

I am new to Linux, I have extensive experience with windows. I have been looking at alternatives to the windows platform.

I am attempting to install the Univention Corporate Server and have it configured as a backup domain controller to my Windows Domain. The issue I am having however is that every time I try to join the domain I am receiving an error of Join Error: ssh-login for user@servername.domain.local failed.

I know the issue is that I don’t want the servername in the above join request. It tells me where it is putting the log file to review and I know the join script is in the usr/lib/inivention-install/ directory. My question is how do I get to that file so I can edit it to correct the join issue.

So I guess the question is with UCS, how do I get to the command line?

Thanks,
George

Hello, I think you have selected ‘DC Backup’, but the first UCS system must always have the role ‘DC Master’. So must do a new installation of UCS. But first you should the DNS-entries in your AD domain.

OK, let me try this again. Using UCS, how do I get to a command prompt? When I attempt to log into the server I receive a message that states that I cannot log in as root. From the web interface I cannot figure out how to get to a command prompt.

Thanks

Hey,

the error message mentioned in your first post about not being able to ssh into the DC is a dead giveaway for a rather common error case: the UCS installation thinks that the DC is another UCS system and not a Windows system. It therefore tries to join a UCS domain as a UCS DC Backup.

This usually happens if, during installation, you configure a DNS server that doesn’t resolve the appropriate records properly. What UCS does is similar to what a Windows server does when you tell it to join a domain: it tries to retrieve a special DNS record that tells the UCS system the name of the AD DC.